Northstar Two Students Working

Transformation that comes from passion and commitment

At Northstar Academy, we recruit excellent teachers who love children and have a passion for what they do.  Northstar teachers are trained in intensive academic remediation instruction and embrace and appreciate our diverse student body. No matter what difficulties our students face, Northstar teachers recognize their unique gifts and focus on challenging them to pursue their aspirations. Our teachers actively participate in continuing education and professional development opportunities so that your child’s educational needs are addressed with the most up-to-date methods. They go to extraordinary lengths to imagine and implement effective strategies to unlock each student’s potential. Our teachers bring passion, energy and vision to the Northstar experience every day.

Among our highly qualified faculty, you will find:

  • Master’s Degrees in Education
  • Master’s Degrees in Special Education
  • Post-Master’s work, including work toward a Doctorate Degree
  • Bachelor’s Degrees with Content or Special Education Certifications

Leadership

Crystal Trent

Head of School

ctrent@northstaracademy.net

Wanda Ramsey

Assistant Head of School

wramsey@northstaracademy.net

Holly Peele

Career Academy Director

hpeele@northstaracademy.net

Catie Huennekens

Career Academy
Assistant Director

chuennekens@northstaracademy.net

Click on sections below to view Academic Campus Staff, Career Academy Staff, Administrative Staff, and Board of Directors

Cindy S. Culley
Director of Admissions
cculley@northstaracademy.net

Brian Bassett
Writing
bbassett@northstaracademy.net

Emily Bingham
Social Studies
ebingham@northstaracademy.net

Michael Bradner
Science
mbradner@northstaracademy.net

Bruce Brown
Facilities Coordinator
bbrown@northstaracademy.net

Christina Burner
Development Coordinator
cburner@northstaracademy.net

Robyn S. Carson
Director of Extended Day Program
rcarson@northstaracademy.net

Eric Carter
Instructional Assistant
ecarter@northstaracademy.net

Catherine Chop
English
cchop@northstaracademy.net

Christy Dietrich
Staff Accountant
cdietrich@northstaracademy.net

Marissa Downs
IEP/IAP Liaison
mdowns@northstaracademy.net

Miranda Gerhard
PE/Health
mgerhard@northstaracademy.net

Amy Goodfellow
History – Upper School
agoodfellow@northstaracademy.net

Lauren Gwaley
Director of Marketing and Public Relations
lgwaley@northstaracademy.net

Scott Hamilton
Math
shamilton@northstaracademy.net

Amanda Kerns, M.Ed
IEP/IAP Liaison
akerns@northstaracademy.net

Angela Harper
Lower School
aharper@northstaracademy.net

Edna Heinig 
Math
eheinig@northstaracademy.net

Rachel Johnson
School Nurse
rjohnson@northstaracademy.net

Emily Knapp
Lindamood-Bell Reading
eknapp@northstaracademy.net

John S. Latham
English – Upper School
jlatham@northstaracademy.net

Kathy M. Llewellyn
Registrar
kllewellyn@northstaracademy.net

Kasey Massengale
Technology Assistant
kmassengale@northstaracademy.net

Lauren Pastore
History and Science
lpastore@northstaracademy.net

Roy Peters, CPA
Director of Finance & Operations
rpeters@northstaracademy.net

Amber Plumb
Lower School
aplumb@northstaracademy.net

Lindsay Lane Robinson
Director of Development
lrobinson@northstaracademy.net

David Rosko
Math
drosko@northstaracademy.net

Sarah Shugart
Receptionist
sshugart@northstaracademy.net

Joy Snyder
Reading
jsnyder@northstaracademy.net

Mario Thornton
Instructional Assistant
mthornton@northstaracademy.net

Jenna Wallace
Technology
jwallace@northstaracademy.net

Jessica West
Dean of Instruction and IEP/IAP Liaison
jwest@northstaracademy.net

Katie White
Lindamood Bell Reading
kwhite@northstaracademy.net

LaTonya Clark
Career Academy – Instructional Assistant
lclark@northstaracademy.net

Sarabeth Creamer
Career Academy – Business Technology and Materials Handling Teacher 
screamer@northstaracademy.net

Nancy Creecy
Career Academy – Case Manager
ncreecy@northstaracademy.net

Tricia Doria, LVT
Career Academy – Veterinary Assistant Teacher
tdoria@northstaracademy.net

Jon Goodman
Career Academy – Construction & Maintenance Teacher
jgoodman@northstaracademy.net

Catherine K. Huennekens
Career Academy – Assistant Director
chuennekens@northstaracademy.net

Jim Kiefer
Career Academy — Hospitality Teacher
jkiefer@northstaracademy.net

Holly Peele
Director of Northstar Career Academy
hpeele@northstaracademy.net

Admissions

Cindy S. Culley
Director of Admissions
cculley@northstaracademy.net

 

Development

Lindsay Lane Robinson
Director of Development
lrobinson@northstaracademy.net

Christina Burner
Development Coordinator
cburner@northstaracademy.net

 

Finance

Roy Peters, CPA
Director of Finance & Operations
rpeters@northstaracademy.net

Christy Dietrich
Staff Accountant
cdietrich@northstaracademy.net

 

Marketing

Lauren Gwaley
Director of Marketing and Public Relations
lgwaley@northstaracademy.net

  • Ben Winters, Chair
  • Lemuel Doss III,  Vice-Chair
  • Lile Benaicha, Secretary
  • Nancy Volante, Treasurer
  • Dr. Richard L Bennett, Jr.
  • William Charlet
  • Christopher H. Daly
  • Tracey Deal
  • F. Robert Hershey “Rob”
  • J. Russell Parker III
  • Jennifer Quindoza
  • Vicki Warren
  • Tyler Whitley
  • Annie Witthoefft
  • John Wyatt
  • Suzanne Yount